Changing Interests.

So, you all know I have sewn a LOT over the last few years. I spend hundreds of hours building up inventory. And many more doing side projects or repairs. But I’m over it now.

I can reason it out and realize it probably has a lot to do with the fact that I have a not so great sewing machine (and NO serger, which I kinda needed…a lot…), up until a few months ago had a complete lack of a sewing room, and I spent much of my time sewing things that were pretty, but frustrating, and never really turned a profit for me.

But really, I just don’t want to do it anymore. I don’t hate it, but I am getting pretty darn close to it. So I think I will quite while I am ahead.

I’ve never liked the idea of just making stuff to make stuff, but I really need to have an outlet where I can create things and enjoy it. Believe me, no one likes my “I don’t want to wash another stupid dish, I want to make something PRETTY” face.

It looks something like this.

So I am currently looking for other options of what I can make that doesn’t involve ironing or threading.

So far the contenders are:

~Making my own sweaters (this is ridiculously fun to me)

~Figuring out how to put dinosaurs on every single piece of clothing my child gets

~Homemade Christmas decorations for next year (I have some awesome ones in the line up!)

~Rock cutting/jewelry making/rock polishing (this has to wait for summer so I can go find pretty ones)

Things that were cut from the list because of time, space, and financial impact:

~Glass blowing (how awesome is that!)

~Pottery making (I could make my own dishes people)

~Becoming a painter (Not an artist, never will be. But I could make pretty pictures!)

So I won’t be completely destitute of activities to keep me entertained! It is sort of strange to leave the sewing behind. I have done it for so long, and it was a such huge part of my life. But we need a break from each other. Perhaps when we have had a year or two apart I will miss it. Absence makes the heart grow fonder, right?

 

  1. #1 by Deb on January 21, 2012 - 10:12 am

    Good for you. I just threw out a cut-out dress pattern because I realized I was never going to finish it. It’s hard to move on, especially when you invest so much time, energy and $$$ into projects, but if it’s not making you happy, then it’s not worth the effort. This is why, when people tell me I should sell my stuff on Etsy, I tell them no. I’d rather make small things for the people I love. And that includes YOU, you lucky duck!

    But you’re gonna finish my purse, right? 😉

  2. #2 by ilaquinn on January 21, 2012 - 10:30 am

    Lol. Yes I did! And it’s on it’s way. It’s featured in my next post as well!
    I finished the last of the sewing projects I had to do, and now I am free to move on!
    And thank you. It did make me happier to leave it behind for now.

Leave a Reply

