Asiago Bagels, for the win.

I ran across this recipe on Pinterest a few days ago, thought I would give it a go!

It turned out really well, and I can’t wait to make more of them! I hear different flavors calling me name…

I’d never made bagels before, and I was a little scared. Honestly, I think the recipe must be fool-proof. =)

So here it is with my edits. You can go check out the link for the original.

Asiago Cheese Bagels: 

Ingredients:

1 cup warm water

3 cups flour

3/4 cup shredded Asiago cheese

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp granulated sugar

1 packet or 2-1/4 tsp active dry yeast (I used more, but I have trouble getting yeast to raise up here.)

water for boiling (about 3 quarts)

3 tbsp sugar to add to boiling water

cornmeal to sprinkle on baking sheet

1 egg white for topping

extra Asiago for topping

Instructions:

Add the first 6 ingredients to a mixing bowl or stand mixer.  You can also mix the ingredients yourself by doing a slow knead for 10 minutes, then kneading quickly for 20 minutes.

After 30 minutes of kneading or mixing, let the dough rise for 1 hour in a warm area.

Separate the dough into 8 parts.  Mine didn’t end up very equal, but they all cooked just fine.

Make each piece into a roll.  Stick your thumb in the center of the roll to make a hole.  Spin the bagel around your finger to widen the hole.  Set the bagels under a wet paper towel for about half an hour.  Bring the water to a boil and add the sugar.

Preheat the oven to 375°F.

Individually place the bagel into the boiling water for 30 seconds one each side.  Pull the bagel out and set it on a dry towel.

Sprinkle the cornmeal onto a cookie sheet and transfer the bagels over. Brush the bagels with the egg white, then sprinkle the cheese on top.

Bake for 20 minutes and check. If needed cook an additional 5 minutes.

When they are golden brown, remove from the cookie sheet and cool.

That’s it!

The hardest part for me was not having a bread-maker/stand mixer. You have to knead the bread for a full 30 minutes, and BY HAND I was a smidgen tired!

Even the dough was pretty!

After the raising and boiling I got to sprinkle more cheese on top.

I think they would have tasted good raw too...

Then it was in the oven for a quick bake, and tada!

Eight little pieces of heaven!

My sis and I had eaten some bagels on her last visit that were just to die for. So I decided the best way to try these out were to make these awesome bagel sandwiches with the fresh ones!

The bagels were still warm from the oven.

That’s: cream cheese, basil, bacon, and tomato. They were delish!!!

  1. #1 by Amanda Patchin on January 25, 2012 - 2:12 pm

    Fuzzy pictures but a delicious sounding recipe! Incidentally I’m making those bacon sandwiches tonight (with store-bought bagels)!

    • #2 by ilaquinn on January 25, 2012 - 2:18 pm

      I’m sure they will still be yummy. After all it is made with BACON.
      Yes, fuzzy pictures. My camera sucks… =D

Leave a Reply

